1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

UVA and the alleged frat rape - Rolling Stone backpedals

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Big Circus, Nov 19, 2014.

1. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

Twenty years ago, right?

2. Dick Whitman

"I support the troops, but ..."

3. YankeeFan

YankeeFan Well-Known Member

I'm no lawyer, but...

They story made it sound like gang rape was an institutionalized initiation process, and they made no attempt to find out if this was true or false.

That sounds defamatory to me.

It wasn't just some broad claim. It was a claim that implicated every pledge of the fraternity, and those running the pledge process, over a number of years, even if it didn't do so by name.

4. The Big Ragu

The Big Ragu Moderator Staff Member

Funny you should ask: Virginia fraternity chapter to sue 'reckless' Rolling Stone | Reuters

You can only defame an individual. But the fraternity consists of a small enough group of individuals, where they could walk into a courtroom and suggest with a straight face that their reputations were hurt. This thing went viral.

Even the lawyers -- if they were actually called -- did a shitty job on the story. The one entity they actually shouldn't have named with what they actually had, WAS named.

5. MisterCreosote

MisterCreosote Well-Known Member

Defining the problem is a particularly germane statement in a discussion about a reporter making up a story to fit her preconceived notions of the problem. That's all I'm saying.

6. YankeeFan

That's different than, "we can all agree that the troops are deserving of our support, but..."