1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

MLB 2022: The Long and Winding Thread

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Starman, Mar 18, 2022.

Tags:
  1. tapintoamerica

tapintoamerica Well-Known Member

I hate the shift. I'm glad it's going to die. Or at least be severely curtailed.

Know what's really gonna change? Spring Training. If I'm a manager, I want my regulars to get more ABs than ever in March so they can get adjusted to being kept in the box. I doubt pitching assignments will change much. Fear of overuse is going to survive.

Deskgrunt50 likes this.
  2. Baron Scicluna

Baron Scicluna Well-Known Member

I remember reading an ESPN story a while back in which some players were asked about certain hot-button topics. Daniel Murphy, the ex-Met and ex-Nat, was asked about going against the shift and he made an interesting point.

He said if the guy at bat wasn’t a base stealer, then the analytic numbers said it wouldn’t make much sense for him to bunt against the shift to get on base because not only would the batter have to reach first, but then two more hitters would each have to get a hit or get on base some way for the first guy to score. He said the odds of having three guys get hits or get on base were pretty high and not much different than than if three guys just swung away and one of them ended up homering.

I’m not a numbers guy, but his explanation did seem to make some sense.

Spartan Squad likes this.
  3. Della9250

Della9250 Well-Known Member

THIS