1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Meanwhile on the International front....

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by DanOregon, Apr 28, 2023.

1. Guy_Incognito

Guy_Incognito Well-Known Member

I'm not going to pretend to be neutral. I studied in Israel for 18 months after HS, and lived their with my family for a year just 8 years ago. I have 2 kids there now. Many friends have kids who are fighting, some in Gaza.
    I just saw this thread, and it is so disappointing and at some points nauseating. Some of you I would not expect anything more from after all these years of "getting to know you", but some I really respect, even if we disagree about nearly everything. Going back forever, one side of this conflict has a policy of targeting civilians and committing war crimes if ever given the chance, uses its own civilians as human shields, firing from schools and hospitals in the hope that Israel will strike back and they will have dead children to parade before an eager international press. The other has had exceptional instances of soldiers and politicians breaking rules and being punished for it. But in the overwhelming majority of cases, aims to avoids civilian casualties often at the expense of its own soldiers- dropping leaflets in Arabic warning of upcoming attacks and telling the innocent to flee.