1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Podcast recommendations

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by three_bags_full, Feb 7, 2024.

1. three_bags_full

three_bags_full Well-Known Member

Need some help, folks. I'm new to both my long drive to work and podcasts. I have about a 30-minute commute to work and back each day and need to find podcasts for both morning and afternoon drives. I'd like to find:

1 news podcast that's a little longer, maybe something to cover the entire drive. I'd like it to be a broad news podcast, rather than an in-depth look at one topic. I've been listening to Gordon Deal's show in the morning, but I'd like to see what else is out there. I sometimes get a bit bored with his format -- three or four headlines, and call in a Washington Examiner or Politico reporter to talk about their story. Not bad, but I'd like to find something more diverse. I feel like I'm trying to find a needle in a haystack with this one.

I'd also like to find the opposite for the drive the other way ... maybe something more in-depth. Doesn't have to be news.

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

2. Twirling Time

Twirling Time Well-Known Member

MSNBC's Way Too Early has a scoped 40-minute podcast that leavens the usual political stuff with sports, weather and financial news. The same format largely carries over into Morning Joe.

Although if at 5 a.m. there is a drinking game possible wherein the weather person announces how many "million people" are affected by a weather system, you'd be toasted before sunrise.

three_bags_full likes this.
  3. Flip Wilson

Flip Wilson Well-Known Member