1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Freelancing question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Dick Whitman, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

When you freelance a piece, how do you introduce yourself to a potential source? Do you note that you're a freelancer? Do you just tell then you are "with the Daily Planet"?

What's the etiquette?

2. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

Hi, this is Mike Harris, I'm a freelancer doing a piece for ***

Never give the impression you are full time for an outlet if you are not.

3. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

Thanks. I wasn't sure if "doing a piece for" covered it, or whether one should specifically note his or her freelance status. Your way sounds like the right way, though, for sure.

4. RecoveringJournalist

RecoveringJournalist Well-Known Member

When I was an intern at a pretty big paper, the first thing they told us during orientation is to never identify yourself as an intern. I always thought that was strange. At my first job, the prep stringers all identified themselves on the phone as, "Kevin from the (paper)." and I didn't think there was anything wrong with that.

I'm not sure there is a right answer to this. I don't think you're misrepresenting yourself if you say, "Hi, this is Dick and I'm doing a story for" the paper.

5. reformedhack

reformedhack Well-Known Member