1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

DakStats...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Blake1288, Jan 11, 2011.

1. Blake1288

Blake1288 New Member

Anyone here use it? I'm gonna give it a test run tonight. I've been using the good ol' pen and paper for three years now and want to give something else a whirl.

Let me know, I attempted to use it watching the Pistons game a few days ago and had moderate success, at least I won't have to call-in stats I suppose...

2. MusicalSportswriter

MusicalSportswriter New Member

As a former basketball SID in the NAIA, I can say that I rather enjoyed DakStats, and never want to go back to pencil and paper. Now that I'm at an NCAA school, I now prefer (and have access to) StatCrew, but DakStats is very easy to learn if you have a decent grasp of computers and shortcut keys.

3. Hank_Scorpio

Hank_Scorpio Active Member

I understand wanting to get rid of pencil and paper. But it could be equally hard trying to run a computer stats program at a high school game by yourself. The action is just too fast paced.

That's why every college has at least a 4-6 person stat crew (some with just spotters).

4. joe_schmoe

joe_schmoe Active Member

like hank said, the computer can be a bigger pain than its worth. One college hoop team i cover the SID never sees anything on the court. He has an assistant on each side watching and telling him what happened.
    Same thing at football. one guy is at the computer, the other 4-6 are just yelling stuff out.