• Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Football stats question

Bud_Bundy said:
If you're referring to a HS game, the National Federation manual stats manual says this:

Provision 7: Any backward pass beyond the LOS (line of scrimmage) during a passing play following a completed pass causes two players to be credited with receiving yards, but only one player may be credited with a pass caught. The player receiving the forward pass is credited with a pass caught and the receiving yards from the LOS to the spot where the backward pass is caught. the player receiving the backward pass is not credited with a reception, but is credited with receiving yards from the spot where the backward pass is caught to the spot where the ball is declared dead in teh player's possession.

From the 50-yard-line, Player A passes complete to Player A2, who advances to Team B's 35 yards line where Player A2 passes backward to Player A3, who catches the ball on Team B's 38-yard line and advances to Team B's 20-yard line before being tackled. Credit Player A with a completed pass and 30 passing yards. Player A2 is credited with a pass caught and 12 receiving yards. Player A3 is not credited with a pass caught, but is credited with 18 receiving yards.

There's nothing in there specifically saying if it is or isn't a touchdown pass.

Which would make it a TD pass for the QB and TD receiving for the one who scored.

It started out as a pass play with the initial pass and catch. The lateral is a continuation of that pass play.

I think this has come up before and the way Bud described it most people thought is the way it should be scored.
 
Angola! said:
Bud_Bundy said:
If you're referring to a HS game, the National Federation manual stats manual says this:

Some states, though, like Texas use the NCAA rulebook and not the National Federation of High Schools. So, it can depend on what state you are in.

yeah, but technically speaking, is texas even a part of the united states?
 
write then drink said:
FantasyAlliance.cm said:
At the NFL level, the QB gets credit for the TD and the WR who catches the first pass gets credit for all the yards.

wrong
In the first game of the season, Ronnie Brown took a handoff and fumbled 4 yards behind the line of scrimage where Chris Chambers picked it up and ran 5 yards, and Brown got credited with 1 yard rushing.
 
Tom Petty said:
Angola! said:
Bud_Bundy said:
If you're referring to a HS game, the National Federation manual stats manual says this:

Some states, though, like Texas use the NCAA rulebook and not the National Federation of High Schools. So, it can depend on what state you are in.

yeah, but technically speaking, is texas even a part of the united states?

Not if we can help it.
 
FantasyAlliance.cm said:
write then drink said:
FantasyAlliance.cm said:
At the NFL level, the QB gets credit for the TD and the WR who catches the first pass gets credit for all the yards.

wrong
In the first game of the season, Ronnie Brown took a handoff and fumbled 4 yards behind the line of scrimage where Chris Chambers picked it up and ran 5 yards, and Brown got credited with 1 yard rushing.

Here's the play -- Brown got credited with a 5-yard loss. NFL's a different animal because they have miscellaneous yardage and fumble return yardage on offense, unlike colleges.
1-10-MIA 38 (9:56) R.Brown to MIA 33 for -5 yards (T.Polamalu). FUMBLES (T.Polamalu), recovered by MIA-C.Chambers at MIA 38.
C.Chambers to MIA 43 for 5 yards.
 
I'm now more confused than I was when I first read this thread.

Is this the consensus for NCAA rules?
-- Lateral receivee gets credit for rushing yardage from the spot of the lateral reception, but he does not get credit for a rush.
 
wicked said:
I'm now more confused than I was when I first read this thread.

Is this the consensus for NCAA rules?
-- Lateral receivee gets credit for rushing yardage from the spot of the lateral reception, but he does not get credit for a rush.

Receivee gets credit for receiving yards, but not a catch.
 
That's how the manual reads. That means you could have a final stat line for a player that shows no catches, but say 50 receiving yards and a score. That's just weird.
 
Johnny Dangerously said:
From the NCAA statisticians' manual:

SECTION 4—LATERAL PASSING
Article 1. The recipient of a lateral pass (a backward pass or one that travels
parallel to the line of scrimmage) is credited with the yardage he gains from the
point he received the lateral, but he is not credited with an attempt, reception
or return on the play. Exceptions: Run-option plays (see Section 2, Article 5) and
laterals or handoffs by a player making no attempt to advance a kick (see Section

8, Article 4). (See also Section 2, Article 6.)
A.R. 1. Team A's ball on Team B's 40. Adams advances to the 20 and laterals
to Allen, who receives the ball on the 22 and scores. Credit Adams with a
rush of 18 yards. Credit Allen with no rush but with 22 yards under “Rushing”
and a touchdown scored by rushing.

A.R. 2. Team A's ball on Team B's 30. Adams passes to Allen
on the 20. Allen laterals to Adler, who obtains the ball on the 21 and advances
to the 15. Credit Adams with a pass attempt and a completion of
15 yards. Credit Allen with a reception of nine yards. Credit Adler with no
reception but with six yards under “Receiving.”

A.R. 3. Team A's ball on Team B's 30. Adams completes a forward pass to
Allen on Team B's 35. Allen laterals to Adler, who obtains the ball on the 36
and is downed on the 37. Credit Adams with a pass attempt and a completion
of minus seven yards. Credit Allen with a reception of minus six yards.
Credit Adler with no reception but with minus one yard under “Receiving.”

A.R. 4. Adams receives a kick (or intercepts) on the 10, advances to the
30 and laterals to Allen, who obtains the ball on the 28 and returns to the
50. Credit Adams with a return of 18 yards. Credit Allen with no return but
with 22 yards under the appropriate returns category (i.e., punt, kickoff,
interception).

Thank God I've never seen a hook-and-lateral work for a TD in all of my 14 years of covering football.

So under A.R. 1, Allen could have "0-22" as his line in the rushing boxscore? So Allen's yards-per carry average would be INFINITY?

Yeesh.
 
It has to be like that otherwise, the boxscore wouldn't balance.

You'd have 20 completions for the QB, but when you'd add up the number of receptions, it'd be 21, which would be equally as weird.
 

Latest posts

Back
Top