1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Even The Wolf likely can't clean up Harvey Weinstein's pending troubles

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Double Down, Oct 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

I know you were kidding, but spousal rape and/or sexual assault is absolutely a thing. Unenthusiastic consent within a marriage or relationship is a very common thing. It sounds silly to argue that unenthusiastic consent by a married partner is a criminal or civil offense. But I'm a lawyer and I think like one. I want the contours well-defined.

2. Dick Whitman

Come on, Rick. That's not the question.

3. outofplace

outofplace Well-Known Member

I know and you make a good point here. I'm just amused by the concept of my wife going along with anything meekly out of fear. Y'all have no idea how comical that seems to me, just because of who she is.

4. RickStain

RickStain Well-Known Member

The "a racist" rule still applies. I haven't called anyone "a misogynist" because trying to split the world into "misogynists" and "not misogynists" is pointless.

Every single one of us grew up in a culture where the behavior this thread is discussing was considered perfectly normal and even encouraged. It's a society that was designed by men for the benefit of men. To assume that *any* of us somehow became products of that without internalizing some level of misogyny is naive.