• Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

College football Week 5 thread: Shout at the Blue Devil

For the second season in a row, Iowa DB Cooper DeJean is the best offensive weapon for the Hawkeyes.

Iowa might pull this one out!
 
Sam Hartman basically pulls it out for Notre Dame, politely deflects Holly Rowe's postgame question – lauds his defense when asked about converting a fourth-and-16 on the game-winning drive – and ends the interview early wanting to check on Riley Leonard, who went down in the final seconds of the game.

Not a Notre Dame fan, but good on Hartman.

Uh-oh ... Leonard comes out of the sideline tent on crutches. Not good for him ... could be a long-term problem for Duke.
 
WVU' s entire defensive unit might be helped off the field before this TCU series is over. They're dropping every play.
 
The only play on that final series that Duke didn't pressure Hartman was the scramble. It rushed three and gave him time to run around, extend the play and then make the play for the first down.

Who knew the best developer of Notre Dame QBs in the past decade or so was Dave Clawson. And of course Hartman was classy, he had five years at Wake.

Question to the refs on the board: TCU's QB blindly flips the ball forward, with no receiver in the area, as he's being tackled, within the tackle box. He's ruled down, so no big deal. On review, though it's ruled he wasn't down and the pass is called incomplete. OK so far.

However, it was clearly intentional grounding, there's not a receiver within 10 yards of where the ball lands, it was a blind chuck. Once the review determined he wasn't down, can the ref then call intentional grounding?

Moot point because TCU's kicker biffed the game-tying field goal, but the announcers didn't even mention the possibility of IG, when it clearly was. Can you call a penalty when review changes something like that?

Mile High, you want to try this one?
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Back
Top